Required CE For RN Employed In The States From Federal Region VII

 

 

 

Preparing the requirements early on before license expires is very important in order to avoid working with an expired license and avoid violating state laws and codes on employment. If you know the requirements in the state for renewal of license for registered nurses, you can already start accomplishing some of these requirements and have these things all prepared when you need to renew your license.

Four States Included in the Standard Federal Region 7

  • Kansas
  • Iowa
  • Nebraska
  • Missouri

 

Kansas

Just like in other states, the state of Kansas also requires specific number of hours of continuing education in order for registered nurses working in the state to renew their license. The required number of CE is 30 contact hours. Registered nurses must renew their license every year in order to continue working as licensed healthcare professionals in the state.

Iowa

Licensed Healthcare ProfessionalsRenewal of license in the state of Iowa is mandated every three years. Just like in some states, the required continuing education for registered nurses working in this state are not fixed by depends on their nature of work, work experience earned for a specific period, and status of license.

  • For registered nurses doing regular full time nursing jobs, the minimum continuing education requirement is 36 contact hours. The course must be accredited by the Iowa Board of Nursing in order for the units to be counted as contact hours.
  • For registered nurses licensed through endorsement and have a license for less than 3 years, the nursing continuing education requirement is 24 contact hours. Licenses that have been issued less than a year but with inactive status, the CE requirement are 12 contact hours.
  • A special CE course is required for registered nurses working in childcare and adult care facilities – at least 2 hours of CE specifically on child and adult care training every 5 years.

Nebraska

Registered nurses employed in the state of Nebraska are required to renew their license biennially in order to continue their practice as license professional nurses. To renew license, RNs must earn at least 20 contact hours of nursing continuing education.

  • All nursing CE courses must be accredited by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services – Regulation and Licensure Credentialing Division.
  • RNs must also earn 4 contact hours of CE  through clinical training on Basic Life Support and Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation

Missouri

This state is the only state in the Federal Region VII that does not require CE courses for registered nurses renewing their license in the state.

Speak Your Mind

*