Required CE For RN Employed In The States From Federal Region VIII

Each state in the US has their own board of nursing that monitors and implements rules especially when it comes to renewal of license and requirements. In order to know the requirements for a specific state, you should inquire directly from the state’s board of nursing or check the board’s official website online for information on continuing education and license renewal.

According to the Office of Management and Budget’s 1974 Standard Federal Regions, the 8th Federal Region is composed of the states of:

 

  • Wyoming
  • Utah
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota,
  • Montana
  • Colorado

 

Wyoming

 Continuing Education For Registered NursesThe renewal of license for registered nurses employed in this state should be done every 2 years. Compared to the common CE requirements imposed in most states, the state of Wyoming requires CE contact hours based on the work experience earned by a registered nurse for a specific period. To renew license, here are some of the common options to choose:

  • The general CE requirement imposed by the Wyoming State Board of Nursing is 20 contact hours and courses must be accredited by the board.
  • Earning 500 hours of work experience in nursing within 2 years.
  • Earning 1,600 hours of work experience in nursing within 5 years.
  • Combining CE contact hours and nursing work experience equivalent to 20 contact hours.
  • Taking a refresher course related to nursing every 5 years.
  • Taking a specialization and earning a national certification form a national certifying body recognized by the board.

Utah

Renewal of license for registered nurses licensed and employed in the state of Utah must be done biennially. To renew license, RNs must comply with the continuing education requirements mandated by the Utah State Board of Nursing – Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. To earn the CE contact hours required by the board, registered nurses must:

  • Earn at least 30 contact hours of nursing continuing education accredited by the board, or CE courses provided by an authorized or accredited CE provider.
  • Earn 400 hours of clinical training within 2 years.
  • Or a combination of 200 hours clinical practice within 2 years plus 15 contact hours of approved nursing continuing education.

North Dakota

For the state of North Dakota, the renewal of license is mandated biennially. The minimum CE requirement is 12 contact hours. However, for the first renewal of license, the CE requirement is 6 contact hours.

Only the 3 states mentioned above have CE requirements for registered nurses working in their state. Colorado, Montana, and South Dakota do not have CE requirements for renewal of license for registered nurses.

Speak Your Mind

*