Required CE For RN Employed In The States From Federal Region X




These are the states included in the 10th Standard Federal Region of the United States based in the Federal Regions created by the OMB in 1974:

  • Idaho
  • Washington
  • Alaska
  • Oregon



In order for registered nurses to continue practicing as a licensed nurse and continue working in the state of Oregon, they are required to renew their licenses annually. A 7 contact hours of continuing education course which is related to pain management is needed to be completed once to enable registered nurses to renew their license. This CE is only required once and this is the only CE requirement that must be accomplished by registered nurse working in the state of Oregon if they want to renew their license. Registered nurses can renew their license easily without CE if they already completed the Required CE before. To meet the required CE by the state, registered nurses must:

  • Required CE For RNComplete the 7 contact hours of continuing education related to pain management.
  • The 6 hours can be accomplished by choosing topics related to palliative care or pain management but the topic must be provided by an accredited CE provider which is approved by the Oregon State Board of Nursing.
  • The Oregon Pain Management Commission must provide the remaining 1 hour.
  • OHSU School of Nursing, ATrain Education, Inc., Wild Iris Medical Education, Inc. and Portland Community College are some accredited organizations and institutions that provide accredited pain management courses.



Licensed and employed registered nurse in Alaska needs to complete some continuing education requirements and nursing work practice or experience to be able to renew their license. They can choose to complete two out of the three given nursing continuing education options.

  • Nursing work experience as a registered nurse of at least 320 hours
  • Professional nursing activity of 30 hours
  • A nurse must have Nursing continuing education of 30 contact hours. The course must meet the qualifications required in the 12 AAC 44.610 and must be recognized by the Alaska Board of Nursing or different accrediting bodies such as the American Nurses Association, American Nurses Credentialing Center and the American Medical Association in order for it to be counted.


Washington and Idaho

Registered nurses in the states of Idaho and Washington do not need to have nursing continuing education if they want to renew their license. LPNs also do not need to meet some CE requirements in order to renew license in these states.

Speak Your Mind